Education Directory

The Church of God Division of Education Handbook and Directory 2018–2022 is the eleventh edition printed since 1996. (No handbook was printed in 2020 because of the COVID-19 Pandemic, causing the International General Assembly to be cancelled.) In February 2008, the decision was made to print the volume after the International General Assembly in order to be more up-todate with Assembly appointments. The handbook is the property of the Global Board of Education and is distributed by mail or the most effective means to Church of God educational institutions and entities worldwide. The handbook contains an updated list of Church of God institutions and personnel from around the world. It also includes the Master Plan of Education. The information provided in this handbook is designed to facilitate meaningful networking between various Church of God institutions, programs, and personnel.


Education and training institutions were not dominant features of the Church of God in its earliest days. However, the Church quickly came to realize the tremendous importance of ministerial training and Christian higher education. In 1918, the Bible Training School (BTS) was established in Cleveland, Tennessee. Training of the ministers was the focus of BTS, and as such, it laid the foundation for both Lee University and the Pentecostal Theological Seminary.

Since the 1930s, the Church of God has continued to expand Christian higher education and ministerial training around the world. Today, there are more than 263 Bible colleges, universities, and/or educational institutions in various countries. Today, there are more than 40 ministerial training schools in the United States, and there are more than 42 in various countries.

In September 1999, the Church of God Executive Council authorized the establishment of the Division of Education and School of Ministry. Dr. David Ramírez serves as the director and liaison. Dr. Michael L. Baker serves as the chancellor of education. Dr. Michael D. Reynolds serves as the director of Ministerial  Development. The Division of Education has two primary responsibilities: (1) ecclesiastical oversight of the educational institutions, and (2) coordination of ministerial development and the continuing education of ministers.

The Division of Education has six departments:

  1. USA Educational Ministries
  2. Ministerial Development/School of Ministry
  3. USA Hispanic Educational Ministries
  4. International Educational Ministries
  5. Mobilize
  6. DOE1